SAM Business Meeting Minutes By Fahui Wang 8-9 pm, April 6, 2005, Denver, CO

David Wong delivered the Chair's report. Some of the highlights from his report are as follows:

- (1) According to the AAG mailing list, SAM's membership has grown to 716 in 2005 from 427 (unofficial toll) in 2003. Based on the dues collected between March 31, 2004 and January 31, 2005, the membership (those who paid dues) is 560. So the current membership may be said to be 500-700, which is a significant growth.
- (2) SAM has organized 24 sessions at the 2005 AAG meeting. This year's paper competitions (students and emerging scholars) have been a great success in terms of participation and quality of papers. We are all indebted to the hard work and great services by the reviewers/judges for the competitions: Gerry Rushton, Harvey Miller and Daniel Sui (for emerging scholars) and Alan Murray, Tom Cova and Lan Mu (for students).
- (3) This year's winners for student paper competition are: Eun-Hye Yoo from UCSB (1st place), and Eric Delmelle from SUNY-Buffalo and Richard Middelton from UCSB who tied for the 2nd place. This year's winner for emerging scholar paper competition is: Ikuho Yamada from IUPUI.
- (4) Rick Church from UCSB was the SAM plenary speaker at this year's AAG meeting. Thanks to Alan Murray again, "Geographic Analysis" and the Blackwell Publisher sponsored the reception after the plenary session.
- (5) The specialty database proposed and developed by the chair David Wong has received a less than warm reception by the SAM board members as well as members.

Vice-Chair and Treasure Fahui Wang delivered the financial report:

By March 2004 at the Philadelphia AAG meeting, the SAM specialty group inherited a balance of \$2,426.45. In the past year (from March 31, 2004 to January 31, 2005), SAM collected dues of \$1,681.00, giving a current balance of \$4,107.45. It seems reasonable to spend roughly the dues collected during the past year. The following is a list of costs incurred:

- (1) \$25*5 = \$125 (5 award luncheon tickets for both paper competition participants and non-board member reviewers)
- (2) \$100 (gift certificate from Amonzon.com for the plenary session speaker Rick Church)

(3) \$400 for 1st price winner of student paper competition, \$200*2=\$400 for the two 2nd price winners of student paper competition, and \$400 for the winner of emerging scholar paper competition Total cost = \$1,425

Election of officers was conducted.

There is one opening for board members and one opening for a student representative. The chair delivered brief bios and statements for two candidates (Tony Grubesic of Univ. Cincinnati, Naresh Kumar of Brown Univ.) who were not present, and Steven Manson (Univ. Minnesota) was present and delivered a short talk on his bio and a statement for the SAM. Scott Bridwell (Univ. Utah) was the only candidate for the student representative. He introduced himself.

The election results are: Steven Manson (11 votes) was to the board (Tony Grubesic received 5 votes and Naresh Kumar received none). Scott Bridwell was unanimously elected as the student representative.

Tom Cova suggested using some of the financial source to support student travels to AAG meeting, in conjunction with the student paper competition. Perhaps we can support 5-7 students as finalists each year based on a preliminary ranking by the reviewers. The issue was discussed but no decision was made. Please continue to discuss the issue, and perhaps the board can make a motion to approve/disapprove it.

Fahui Wang Department of Geography Northern Illinois University DeKalb, IL 60115-2854 Phone: 815-753-6842

Fax: 815-753-6872 E-mail: fwang@niu.edu

http://globe.geog.niu.edu/Wang_03.htm