Annual Report for 3/02 – 3/03

Spatial Analysis and Modeling Specialty Group The Association of American Geographers

I. Mission Statement

Our mission is to foster and maintain interaction, cooperation and community among individuals interested in the analysis of geo-referenced data, modeling of spatio-temporal processes and the use of analytical and computational techniques in solving geographic problems. The specialty group promotes the scientific study of physical, environmental and socioeconomic geography and the development, use and teaching of analytical cartography, geographic information systems (GIS), remote sensing, spatial statistical, mathematical and computational techniques for spatial analysis.

II. Membership Dues

Regular: \$3 Student: \$1

III. Board

Chair – Alan Murray (term expires 2003) Vice Chair/Treasurer – Stuart Sweeney (term expires 2004) Board member – David Wong (term expires 2003) Board member – Jonathan Comer (term expires 2004) Board member – Tom Cova (term expires 2005) Student representative - Jared Aldstadt (term expires 2005)

IV. Accomplishments, Activities, Future Plans and Directions

National Meeting

The annual business meeting of the specialty group was held at the AAG in New Orleans on March 6, 2003 at 7 pm. There were over 20 people in attendance. SAM was active and visible at the national meeting, sponsoring or co-sponsoring 15 sessions (62 papers). The fourth annual plenary talk was given by Nina Lam (Louisiana State University) titled "Challenges in Spatial Analysis: An Assessment". Following the plenary was a reception sponsored by *Geographical Analysis*. Both functions were well attended (approximately 80 people present).

Elections

At the business meeting new officers were elected. David Wong (George Mason University) was elected as Chair, replacing Alan Murray. Mark Horner (Southwest Texas State University) was elected Board member, replacing David Wong. Thus, the new board is as follows (effective immediately):

Chair – David Wong (term expires 2006) Vice Chair/Treasurer – Stuart Sweeney (term expires 2004) Board member – Jonathan Comer (term expires 2004) Board member – Tom Cova (term expires 2005) Board member – Mark Horner (term expires 2006) Student representative - Jared Aldstadt (term expires 2005)

Congratulations to our new board members!

Student Paper Competition

The SAM sponsored student paper competition was again held. There was a tie, so the winners this year were Changjoo Kim (graduate student in the Department of Geography at Ohio State University - "Infrastructure design and cost allocation in hub network") and Nicholas Nagle (graduate student in the Department of Geography at University of California at Santa Barbara - "A point-based regression analysis of industrial location"). Congratulations to both Changjoo and Nick for well done papers and excellent presentations!

SAM Web Site

Given the change in SAM chair, there will be a change in the location (and content) of the SAM web page in the coming months. Currently, information regarding the SAM specialty group may be found at:

http://geog-www.sbs.ohio-state.edu/sam_aag/

Notification of changes will be sent to members, and forwarding links will be in place to ensure that the new site is found.

V. Membership and Participation

Membership numbers:

- 2003 427 (unofficial) 2002 – 366 2001 – 261 2000 – 204 1999 – 219 1998 – 244 1997 – 285
- 1996 339

1995 - 309

Current balance: \$2,597.95

Respectfully submitted,

Alan Murray March 19, 2003